The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how theanswers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The argument by the city council here is that the switch from incandescent lights to light-emitting diodes will lead to cost savings to the city is although appreciable, it is not backed up by any evidence as to how this might happen.

There may be other factors that might affect the cost to the city rather than just the incandescent bulbs. Firstly, there will be a significant cost incurred to gradually change the incandescent bulbs with the light-emitting diodes. The argument also does not specifies the lifetime of an LED or the incandescent bulbs. The incandescent bulbs could have a longer lifetime and therefore might not need to be changed regularly. Similarly, if the LED's have a shorter lifetime, then they will have to be replaced frequently, which will again increase the cost that will be incurred by the city.

The argument also neglects the possibility of different types of bulbs having different rates of electrical consumption. The LED's although burning brighter may consume a higher voltage or a higher rate of electricity. This increased rate of consumption may again lead to a higher electric bill to the city and hence end up costing the city more than the incandescent bulbs.

There also comes a factor of maintenance cost once the bulbs are installed. If the LED's have to undergo maintenance at a frequent rate than incandescent bulbs, then the cost of maintenance will pile up over a period of time. There might also be a lot of other indirect costs incurred by using LED.

Although there is a possibility the cost incurred may be decreased by the use of LED's, there is no evidence given on to how this conclusion was reached. The LED's although burn brighter and cost just as much as the incandescent bulbs, there may be other factors such as maintenance cost, the consumption rate of electricity of the LED's, the lifetime of a bulb to name a few. Therefore much more evidence is needed to support the argument that switching from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes might save electrical costs in the future.