"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

The author of this argument claims that the city government should not provide annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. To support the recommendation, the author cites the following facts. (1) A new director of Symphony attracts high-profile guest musicians to perform with the Symphony. (2) Private contributions to the symphony have doubled, and more people come to the Symphony’s concert-in-the- park. (3) Symphony raises the cost of tickets, so its revenue will be increased. Scrutiny each of these facts, however, reveals none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, relies on the fact that the tickets of Symphony concerts will rise; the author infers that its revenue will increase. Nevertheless, it is entirely possible that increasing the cost of tickets decreases the number of attendance at the symphony’s concert because people cannot afford its tickets. In this way, contradiction the author claims the symphony cannot gain more revenue.

Second, a serious of problems with this argument arises from the scant statistical information. The author relies on the fact that private contributions to the symphony have doubled, so it never needs city government’s funding’s. Although, personal financial aids have increased, it is entirely possible it cannot be enough. In addition, the author does not provide information that aids are permanents. In short, since the argument relies on the limited information, I cannot take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In the third place, the author claims that symphony has increased because in the last concert increased significantly. However, the author must consider others factors, which cause many people came to the last concert. In it possible, the last concert held in the summer, when people have spare time, so in the other seasons, few people tend to go to concerts. In addition, the lack of recreations facilities forces people to go to the concert, while people may find another alternative way for filling their time instead of going to the concert in the future. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that symphony's fans have increased.

In sum, the argument is not credible and therefore, unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information about their fan, and private financial aids. In order to evaluate the recommendation, it would be better to know about all possible factors, which increase the attendance last Symphony in-the-park-concert.