Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and city center has doubled their commuting time.The favored proposal of motorist lobby is to widen the highway, addding an addditional lane of traffic.But last year

Authors suggestion to add an extra lane to reduce the traffic in rush hours is good suggestion, but there are many logical flaws in it. Authors proposals in an argument are based on assumptions and holes and does not seems cogent.

Author first says that increase in traffic during rush hours doubles the commute time. But as we know that, highway is connecting suburb areas and city center increase in traffic is obvious. However it is possible that the rush is only at particular office timings. Author needs to examine the particular duration when the rush is more. Then author talks about adding a additional to reduce the traffic. He need to think that is it viable solutions? It might possible further increase in population leads to same problem.

Author has mentioned in the argument that favored proposal is from motorist, he did not mention anything about other vehicles. One possibility is only no other vehicle is facing the problem. He has not provided any details regarding the drivers. Who are drivers? They might be employees, college students, adults. He has not mentioned cause of the traffic. It is possible that traffic is increasing because of not obeying traffic rules, for example, rush driving, frequent accidents, heavy duty vehicles.

Author then talks that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Author is precluding this, he don't have any evidence for this. How is it worsen? Increase in traffic on Green Highway after addition of lane does not guarantee that it will affect the on Blue Highways.Instead my suggestion would be to divide the existing highway into separate lanes for motorist, heavy duty vehicles ,small vehicles. This will reduce the chaos on the highway. Another solution is to divert the traffic through some other route. Author did not mention that there is only one way to reach city center. Government can provide public transport or people can start car pooling to mitigate the rush, This will solve the problem within low cost.

Author at last suggest that adding a adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway will alleviate the problem. But he did not talk about how it is going solve the problem. He is saying that many area residents are keen bicyclists, but does the highway is used by only area residents only? Residents are keen bicyclists, does not mean that they will prefer to travel by it. It is possible that people are travelling through the highways for some important purposes such as school exams, office timings. It will be difficult for people to travel back from work or school to home, after being sapped by the whole day work. It is also possible that people will use bicycle lane just to enjoy the it, which may lead to increase in traffic in bicycle lane itself. Adding extra bicycle lane might be extra overhead for maintenance.

To conclude, Authors suggestion is good but there are many flaws that would not solve the problem.