Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

The argument topic pointed out that the solution of the rush-hour-traffic on Blue highway between Suburbs and the City center. Author reveals that this problem is solved by adding the bicycle lane: residents of the city are liked to use the bicycle. This seems to be easy and simple idea but in fact it is not that simple as mentioned by this prompt. This argument contains many holes in an assumption. Hence, argument is incomplete.

First of all, author compares the one city problem with the another city; however, he has no idea of the details of the physical structure and nature of the residents. He has not given any information about the rules and regulation. Traffic jam basically depends upon the traffic rule. If, strict traffic rule is implemented, vehicles follow the all the rules, which helps to improve the traffic. It is needed to find out the rush hour and then make a particular rule for driving the vehicles. Government can rule the time hour to drive the vehicle on the road. For instance, schools bus should pass though that road before the late evening. All the construction related vehicle should drive at the night time. Pedestrian should follow the separate path. This type of the solution may help for this problem.

The second and weak assumption is that author says that adding the extra traffic lane is not solution. I want to give the same suggestion that widening the road is permanent solution. We know every year vehicles are adding in that city, that creates the big problem in the future time. Hence, it is better to add the extra lane.

The third and totally foolhardy thought is that residents are agree to use the bicycle. How can author can say? What is the reason behind it. If, they want to use the bicycle, there is more bicycle. He has not provide the actual data of the vehicles. Without providing the solid reasons, we can not say adding the bicycle lane can solve this problem.

In summary, in order to solve the traffic problem, it is needed to add the extra traffic lane. Recently, this problem can solved by making the strict rule and regulation is appropriate.