"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

The Argument here states that, the main reason behind the increase in the number of on-the-job accidents is because of the long shifts of the workers in the company factory. For the reasoning, the vice president of the company concludes that the near by company producing the same type of product has the shorter working shifts and due to that their on-the-job accidents are less than their own company. Adding to that he also states the workers might not be getting enough amount of rest due to the working hours in the company. I can find number of threshold flaws in the assumptions made by the company vice president.

First of all, the first fact stated here is that the company reported 30 percent more on-job accidents than before. It reminds me of several important questions that should be answered to conclude this particular fact. In which, what were the previous number of workers in the company? What were the previous number of accidents in the company? What are the number of workers in the Panoply industry? Is the production rate of both the companies nearly equal? Which machinery was used before and which one is being used now by the current workers in the production? These are the questions need to examined to conclude the fact.

What I would like to further add is more important than the previous one,which can be explained as on which basis the advice from the experts were used as the ultimate truth for the reasons of the on-job accidents. It should be thought of that what are the factors the experts considered while surveying or rather finding the flaws particularly. How much the experts should be trusted on what they have said? What could be the possible reasons behind saying this as an error for the production team? So, to add this as a fact and not a mere assumption more of the information is required to be taken in consideration.

Moreover, the workers routine outside the company premises should also plays a part in the on-job accidents. What are the things the worker does in his whole day? Does he gets enough amount of rest?It is also possible that if worker needs more money to take care of him and his family then he might be working on another part time job after this. By which he might not be getting enough amount of rest. One can also consider the amount of stress he might be going through because of the personal reasons. After considering all this we can conclude the above assumption true.

At the end, I would like to conclude that the assumption the vice president has made through several baseless points need more points and facts to be stated as a fact. There needs to some effective points behind the assumptions made, and for that the company should do different surveys, finding more different reasons which could be possibly playing a hand in this.