Essay topic: In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

Author of this passage offers to increase funding of riverside recreational facilities based on several assumptions about current river usage and resident’s attitude towards river sport activities. While provided assumptions seems logical, approval of author’s proposal require more information and thought.

First of all, author states that in surveys Mason City citizens high rank water sport as recreational activity. However, the scope and validity of those surveys are unclear. How many citizens went through the survey? Are they from different demographic groups? What was the wording of the question? For example, it is possible that in whole survey took part only those who live near river, which makes the survey not representative in expressing position of all citizens. Without confirmation that surveys were representative, it cannot effectively state author’s argument.

Additionally, author implies that Macon City residents are rarely using Mason River due to low budget of current recreational facilities and low quality of the water. There is no strong support for those statements, as amount of the budget devoted to maintaining riverside recreational facilities is not revealed and there is no confirmation that this amount is not enough. Low river quality and smell can be a factor for citizens not to use river for recreational activity, but author does not support these implication with valid data. Though there have been complaints, we don’t know were they from wide range of people or only from several activists? Author could support his/her proposal by conducting a representative survey about reasons that drove residents away from using Mason River.

At last, author suggest that cleaning up river for sure will increase use of river for sport activities. This implication may not be true as we don’t have full information about other factors influencing river usage. For example, river may be not suitable for water sport at all or other better water facilities already exist near Mason City. In this case, cleaning Mason River will not increase its usage and devoting more money in riverside recreational facilities is not essential for city.

Although, idea of investing money into riverside activities may be beneficial for city and its citizens, author’s argument does not provide a full analysis of current situation and more information is required in order to warrant any action.