Essay topics: The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the above passage claims that shower head modification that restricted water flow one-third will increase their profit significantly. Thought the author's suggestion seems reasonable at first glance, the following investigation shows why it may be flawed.

To begin with, the author believes that changing showerhead into a water-saving model will make significant savings in water cost, however, this may not be the case. He implies that if they change the showerhead model, the residents will use water less than before. Though the water flow per time may decrease, the whole usage of water may not decrease, if people take shower for a longer time than before. Because it is lower-limit at the portions of water a person needs for a day. In that case, the whole portion of water will not be changed or even increased. Thus, without additional evidence regarding the actual decrease in water consumption among the city residents the author's argument cannot be warranted.

Moreover, it is assumed that there is no problem except few complaints among residents, therefore the profit increase is prospective. However, this supposition may be erroneous. Most of all, his argument is based on a month observation, which is too short. To make a general statement about the construction results are successful and no problem, long-term observation at least a year would be necessary. Considering the water consumption is differed by seasons; for example, higer when summer, lower in winter, at least a year-long information is needed. If the construction has done in winter, people will find problems out in next summer, which is too late. Also, the author's assertion that there is no problem so far, is flawed too. The few complaints are also a problem. Therfore the author's belief that the construction was successful is not guaranteed. To support the author's argument, long-term observation reports about the construction results will be required.

Furthermore, the author argues that this building's success will adjust to the other buildings too, however, may not be warranted. Because the conditions are different from this building to others. To get the same results, the conditions such as location and the age of the buildings should be the same.

In conclusion, the author’s argument relies heavily on its doubtful assumptions. To strengthen the argument, the author needs to show that the water saving construction is related to the significant rise in the company's profit.