Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The originator of the argument asserts that academic honor codes are far more effective at preventing students from cheating then other methods of control. This conclusion is buttressed by several evidences; however, may these facts have alternative explanations? To answer on this question we need to closerly look at these evidences.

The main evidence which is used to support the conclusion is that the average of cases of cheating reported per year has dropped drastically since the honor code was implemented in the Groveton College (GC). The author of the text surmises that only one possible explanation of the alteration of the average exists - it is extermely efficient way to control students' conduct. However, may this turn be explained otherwise? The answer is loud "yes". For instance, teachers used to have a duty to closely monitor their student; that means that the educators had to pay attention to this activity. Today students should report about cases of cheating but their major task is to study and to acquire knowledge. Consequently, students' control may be poor in contrast with teachers' one.

Furthermore, the writer of the argument tends to equal the number of cases of cheating committed with the number of cases of fraud reported. Probably, these two numbers are not equal to each other. Students may cheat more or less then before but the closeness of the number of the cases reported and perpetrated is profoundly connected with effictiveness of monitoring. Then better control we have, then more these two numbers will be related to each other. Owing to the fact that we were not told about these data we cannot and should not accept the author's belief that honor code is better than the old and traditional system.

Finally, the arguement claims that the academic honor codes are more successful than are other ways to monitor students. At the same time, the conclusion is based on one case of GC. Perhaps it is not reasonable to extrapolate one case on the whole situation. The Groveton College may be an unique and exeptional case because of its inherent characteristics such as century old traditions etc. Moreover, our analysis has displayed that author's explanation of the data of the fulfillment of the policy is questionable and needs to be reenforced by additional information.

In conclusion, the author's belief that honor code is more effective as a method of preventing cases of cheating is not buttressed properly and given evidences may be explained by factors which were not taking into account by the originator; therefore his or her conclusion is not warranted.