Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that evaluating teaching effectiveness by students does not make a big difference at getting jobs after graduation, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that student grades may not be related to their actual academic achievement and their future jobs, but the author needs verifiable evidences to prove his/her recommendation.

First of all, the author claims that student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent; however, he/she does not mention about statistic which can make a big difference in his/her recommendation. We do not know the number of students admissions in every year in Omega university. For example, if the total number of students have increased by 30 percent during last fifteen years, so rising grades by 30 percent cannot be a true result.

In addition, the author does not mention about similarities and differences between Omega university and Alpha university which can make a different perspective because there are many factors that can affect student’s achievement and job finding other than just getting high grades. For example, Alpha university may have smarter students with more confidence in job interviews compare to Omega university. Or Alpha university may offer interview workshops to prepare students for their future job interviews which can be a reason for graduated students to get professional jobs successfully. Moreover, teaching methods in two different universities need to be addressed. For example, Alpha university might have more modern lab instruments that can help students to learn more efficient. As a result, students in Alpha university will have more knowledges and confidence in their job interviews.

Last but not least, the author does not talk about job offering during last fifteen years. Getting a job fifteen years ago was not hard as much as today because of less competition. In addition, the author does not indicate the major differences in two universities which can affect the job marketing result. For example, Omega university may have more students with nutrition major which can make it harder for them to get a job. Or Alpha university may have more engineering students who can get jobs easy because of just higher job availability.

The author can make his/her claim persuasive when he/she gathers information about similarities and differences in two universities, total number of students, and job marketing. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion to terminate student evaluation of professors.