Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Omega University has decided to terminate student evaluation of professors in order to enable its garduate students to secure better jobs. This is based on evidence that grades percent has increased by 30% which led Recruits to believe that students grades are not accurate and inflated, and Apha Unversity students are more sucessfull. We also need answers to below three questions to evaluate this recommendation.

What if remarks from Potential employers on evaluation have other factors than grades of students in student achievement? There may be other factors which led to poor performance of students. Students may be good at subject knowledge but weak in practical knowledge. This might influenced recruits to not recruit the students of Omega University.

What if Alpha University has also implemented the student evaluation of professors? There may be increase in grades for Alpha University also. Then, there may be other factors that have led the students in Alpha University to perform good in job selection. There may be no influence of grades in selection process. Hence, the termnation of student evaluation may be recommeneded if the above points are true.

What if the faculty has changed in Omega University? There may be change in professors in Omega University. They might have not been as effective as the previous professors are in the explanation of concepts to the students. This might have caused in students poor performance in job selection.

With the answers provided to the questions, we can evaluate the arguement of terminating the student evaluation of professors in order to enable its graduate students to secure jobs of Omega University.