A folk remedy for insomnia, the scent in lavender flowers, has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monito

This argument is about the impact of the lavender-scent pillow on a group of patients who are suffering from the insomnia. The author cites about those people who have some chronic difficulties with sleeping and for supporting his recommendation, he mentioned about a remedy with lavender flower that is really impressive for their problem. Although this treatment might have some benefit in an empirical environment, he can not provide valid and cogent reasons to strengthen his claims.

The first and the most important point is that the experiment is done only on a small group. This factor has some flaws. In fact, generalizing some results that work only on the 30 patients to all the people might not be convincing. Consider this group selected based on some concealed implications, for example, some families hereditary are suffering from sleeplessness, hence the results are true only for them. Moreover, all reliable studies have done in a larger group. As we know, millions people are suffering the insomnia, and thus, only a group that contains 30 persons can not be a logical representative of those people. In brief, to have a validate results, the editorial should offer more strong reasons and larger statistical society.

Moreover, the assumption that performing the experiment in the controlled room and circumstances needs to be justified by certifying the results in real world and normal places. This factor is ignored that the peaceful and wonderful place can be one of the most factor that has played a critical role in their well sleepiness. In fact, the author has forgotten to consider such an important cause of insomnia in his experiment. For example, some people have chronic sleeplessness because of being residence near the large and crowded highways or airports. Having done the study in controlled room cannot truly find the cause of insomnia and hence the remedy known as the scent of lavender flower might not that effective in their treatment.

One more critical problem with this argument is that this group of people abruptly discontinued their pervious medication. There is a possibility that their sudden act might cause the sleep that is more uncomfortable in the second week, but on the third week of the experiment their bodies try to adjust themselves to the new situation. As result, the author wrongly considers that the scent is impressive. Additionally, it should be noted that if this remedy can be effective based on scientific method and researches, most doctors might advise it to their patients.

From what have been discussed, it is clear that the author's claims are not well grounded and most of his results need to prove by more reliable data and larger group of study that considering different reasons of insomnia in real and normal world.