The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist. “Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.” Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp argues that Dr. Field’s conclusion about the Tertian village culture us invalid and his interview centered method to is better to establish an accurate understanding of the child rearing cultures in Tertia and other islands as well. This argument by Dr. Karp has 3 flaws which weaken his argument.

To begin with, Dr. Field’s study predated Dr. Karp’s study by about 20 years. People who were children when Dr. Field visited the islands would have been adults by the time Dr. Karp visited the island. The children Dr. Karp and his team interviewed would not even have been born at the time Dr. Field noted his observations. Dr. Karp fails to take into consideration the time gap between bot the studies and ignores the possibility of a shift in the culture of the islands. Cultures worldwide were more joint family oriented earlier and slowly shifted to the nuclear family culture that exists now. The same may have happened in Tertia. Therefore, overlooking the aspect of a cultural shift weakens Dr. Karp’s argument. Perhaps if Dr. Karp’s provides a study in which he argues 20 years is not a long enough period for a cultural shift, his argument may have been more conclusive.

Secondly, Dr. Karp extrapolates Dr. Field’s observation to draw a wider conclusion that Dr. Field never intended to. Even if we assume Dr. Fields conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid, one cannot extend that conclusion and apply it to dismiss observation-centered approaches to studying cultures entirely. Dr. Karp does not provide sufficient evidence, may be in the form of a percentage-based comparison of the number of observation-centred approaches on how many were right and how many were wrong. 1 erroneous study doesn’t rule out empirical evidence entirely. . Also, Dr. Field’s observations and conclusion were limited only to the island of Teria, while Dr. Karp tries to extend Dr. Field’s study to arrive at a conclusion on the study of other island cultures as well. Islands are considerably isolated, and thus it is completely possible that Tertia has a unique culture that is not shared with any other islands. Dr. Karp fails to answer this question in his argument.

In addition to the 2 points stated above, Dr. Karp argues that the interview-centred method that he and his students are using will establish a much more real understanding of child rearing traditions there. Dr. Karp does not provide any evidence on the success of this method elsewhere in similar anthropological studies, neither does he justify why his method would be the best. If he had some data to back his claim regarding the success rate of interview-centred approaches, his argument would be more cohesive.

In conclusion, the Argument of Dr. Karp to invalidate Dr. Field’s study and conclude that an interview-based approach is the best is very weak and would need a lot of evidence and questions answered before it stands any ground.