The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded

from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their

own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands

that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological

parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s

conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach

to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-

rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

The writer of the article says that interview-centered approach to study child-rearing cultures in the group of islands would be more accurate than observation-centered approach. He does not mention relevant details and date that support his conclusion.

The anthropologist does not mention how he has arrived at the conclusion just from the fact that his conclusions about the child-rearing habits of people of Tertia contradict with those of another anthropologist who employed observation-centered approach of investigation. The author does not cite any correlation between the people the children talk about the most and the people who spend most time with them or in general the people that do the activities associated with child-rearing. If there seems to be strong correlation, only then can it be concluded that observation-based approach is inferior or less reliable than interview-based approach.

Unless the author is expecting the reader to assume that there is a direct correlation between amount of time a child spends with an adult and the time he spends taking about that adult in an interview the conclusion seems baseless.Even in such a case, it is possible that even though some aspects of child-rearing are done by villagers other than the children's biological parents just because major aspects are done by their biological parents, the children might talk more about their parents. It is also possible that only because they love their parents the most, they talk about their parents the most.

Even if we assume that interview-based approach was superior in Tertia, the author does not cite any data to that shows that same conclusions would be valid in other Islands. If not, it is possible that interview-based approach might lead the researchers to all the wrong conclusions in other Islands.

In summary, unless any relevant evidence, data and explanation is given to support the it the intended audience of this article must be skeptical of the conclusion.