The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concludedfrom his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village ra

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily this argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the interviews of Dr. Karp adequately represent the Tertian people.

We understand that Dr. Karp has interviewed children across a larger group of islands, including Tertia. Dr. Field on the other hand had focused only on the island of Tertia, which is why it is possible the results are skewed towards the other islands in the group.

It is not easy to verify the structure of the interviews, perhaps they were asking the children about their parents in which case the children will surely spend more time talking about their parents, but talking is not evidence that they were raised by their biological parents, I can talk for hours about my great grandfather, who was a war hero for India neither did he raise me and nor have I ever met him.

Dr. Karp focused only on interviews, but we can never know the truth just from conversations, observation is crucial indeed and the interview may be biased. Also noteworthy is the fact that a team of graduate students was sent to Tertia to conduct interviews, they are bound to be inexperienced compared to a doctor visiting the island himself, as Dr.Field

had done.

Although there is a chance that from when Dr. Field had visited the island, the culture has changed and families are now atomic, this too does not invalidate the research done by Dr. Field and by no way does it invalidate observation-centered approaches as a whole.