Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

No matter how morally sound my father is when he sacrifices time spent with family at work, he loses our respect and when was the last time you listened to someone you did not respect?

A leader, by definition, is someone who can take responsibility for his peers and guide them forward, while moral judgment plays an important role in making the right decisions, the moral choice may not be the best choice for the good of the group, perhaps the village leader needs to steal from the nearby village to feed his people, an act that will no doubt make the villagers respect him.

An interesting example is throughout history, the most effective leaders have undoubtedly been those with questionable moral judgment, charismatic men like Adolf Hitler and Benito Mussolini have often led their people with such fervor and passion, that they effectively brainwashed the population, and earned so much respect from their peers, that they became the de facto leaders, and no doubt the most effective leaders we have ever seen.

When I tell you someone is an effective leader, it means his peers execute his wishes without any questions, if the prime minister's peers had no respect for him they would not remain loyal to him. Another perspective is that between parent and child, a child that does not respect his/her parents will go out of their way to make life difficult for their parents, for deep inside his subconscious mind he wishes to rebel and act in spite against his parents' wishes, which means the parent is an ineffective leader: as the members of the household don't respect him.

As soon as the Chief Executive Officer of Uber came under scrutiny for ignoring reports of sexual harassment, he lost the respect of the board of directors and was removed from the company he created, this was a case of him losing respect because of his moral judgment. While respect is the primary factor in a leaders effectiveness should the leaders' moral judgment sway too far, the peers may still respect the leader for his past contributions, but acting in the best interest of the group, they must find a new leader, before they find themselves neck-deep in controversy.

It is for the simple reason when someone needs to execute your orders, they must respect you, or else they will do a halfhearted task, and as a leader, you have failed to lead them effectively.

It is not the dream of freedom that causes uprisings like the Arab Spring but a deep-rooted hatred and disrespect for our leaders.