The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

“This past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol building to protest against proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. The other 12,000 Waymarsh students evidently weren’t so concerned about their education: they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. Since the group who did not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state’s college students than are the protesters. Therefore the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students.” Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument claims that the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students since the group who did not pretest is far more numerous.

The conclusion of the argument is based on the premise that 12000 Waymarsh students who did not protest were not so concerned about their education. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the students, who have not taken part in the protest were not concerned about their education. However, it fails to mention other factors, which could affect students’ decision concerning the participation in the protest. For example, 200 students that have travelled to the state capital building could have been appointed as other students’ representatives. The author fails to mention the laws that regulate protests. The legal number of people taking part in the protest might have been limited in compliance with these laws.

Second, the argument could have been much clearer if it provided information on any other similar protests aroused by proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. In fact, it is not at all clear if similar actions also were also taken by students of other colleges affected by proposed cuts.

Finally, the argument fails to mention one of the key factors, on basis of which it could be evaluated, namely if any of 1200 students who haven’t taken part in the protest are enrolled in the programs which would be affected should the cuts take place.

Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.