The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper:

“This past winter, 200 students from Waymarsh State College traveled to the state capitol building to protest against proposed cuts in funding for various state college programs. The other 12,000 Waymarsh students evidently weren’t so concerned about their education: they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. Since the group who did not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state’s college students than are the protesters. Therefore the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students.”

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. Point out flaws in the argument's logic and analyze the argument's underlying assumptions. In addition, evaluate how supporting evidence is used and what evidence might counter the argument's conclusion. You may also discuss what additional evidence could be used to strengthen the argument or what changes would make the argument more logically sound.

The argument claims that the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students based on the sole reasoning that number of students protesting to the number of students who did not come to the protest. Stated in this way the argument conveys distorted view, reveals examples of poor reasoning and fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Hence the argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the arguments readily assumes that 12000 Waymarsh students evidently weren't so concerned about their education hence they either stayed on campus or left for winter break. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in anyway. For example, what if the students who didn't attend the protest have some other commitments related to the studies such as semester exam preperations, assignments and winter projects. What if some of them are afraid or are short on budget and hence didn't attend the protests or what if the students thought in order to peacefully conduct protests they collected signatures from all the 12000 students and only 200 decided to travel to state capitol and protest. Clearly, the argument did not provide enough evidence to support that most of the students did not join the protests because they weren't so concerned about their education. The argument could be much clearer if it presented more facts about why didn't so many students attended the protests instead of jumping to the conclusion that they weren't concerned about their education.

In addition to, the argument assumes that since the group who did not protest is far more numerous, it is more representative of the state's college than are protesters. This is a weak reasoning and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any corellation between the umber of protesters protested outside the state capitol and number students who are against the cuts in funding for various state college programs. To illustrate, What if most of the students dissagre about the cuts in funding but only 200 could afford to travel for the protests. We cant assume every citizen should join the protest and then only e would know by counting the heads who attended the protest are against it. A simple survey would have solved it. If we take most of the protest yeah out of million population if 10000 people come on roads and protest it is only these 10000 people are against the law no there might be lot of but could not able to join them on roads but are against the law. If the argument had provided clear evidence that most of the students are fine with the law it could have been lot more convincing.

Finally, the argument concluded that the state legislature need not heed the appeals of the protesting students. It did not take into consideration about the students future and number of students are graduation every year from those courses and will it benefit the college and students if it cut the budget. Without convincing answers to these questions one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantial one.

In conclusion the argument is flawed based on the above reasoning and is unconvincing. It could be strengthened if the author have mentioned all the relevant facts. In order to access merits of the situation it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.