The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum

In the preceding argument, the author claims that Balmer population is doubled during the summer month and that increased the moped accidents, the conclusion of the argument is based on the following premises. Firstly, he states in order to mitigate the accidents rate they have to reduce the moped rentals from 50 per day to 30 per day. Secondly, he bolsters his assumption by stating the neighboring island has enforced the same limit and the reduction was 50 percent. Hence, in the first glance it may seem plausible. However, careful scrutiny sheds light on plethora of assumption that could undermine the value of the argument.

To begin with, he states the population doubles in the summer month that led to increase the moped accidents rate. But the fallacy of the assumption lies in using undefined language such as "double" what the author means in this words? What is the precise number for the double word. Perhaps the number increased but they do not aggregate in the same place, or perhaps because their number increased the roads became congestion with cars, bicycles and mopeds. Consequently, he fails to describe the true status of the island and he has to provide complete information to boost his case.

Secondly, the largest leap in the argument is what the author states as solution to mitigate the accidents rate that they have to decrease the mopeds rental rate from 50 per day to 30 per day,. But there is no evidence is presented to establish this assumption. Perhaps, the city has poor infrastructure that could be the direct cause of increasing the accidents rate or the city is too small cannot compensate large number of people, further, is it plausible that decrease the rental rate to 30 per day will guarantee decreasing the accidents rate or even we assume that the rate is decreased but is it significant enough?. Thus, the argument lack a depth of details and without complete information the argument is feckless.

Thirdly, the author readily assumes without warrant that the two island are the same and what works with Torseau island will mandatory work with Balmor island, but it could differ in many things such as the residents size or the road status further, we do not have any information about their future plan may the found decreasing the mopeds will help to force people to use public transportation system that will lead to increase the government revenue. In deed, the cause of difference could be the cause of success and because there is no information about the Torseau island it is implausible to reflect their success on Balmor island. Consequently, the argument is without basis and it would be stronger if the author provide more reliable information.

in conclusion, the argument fails to provide any key factor. Namely, the assumptions are equivocal. Hence, without complete information about the Balmor island the argument is unsubstantiated and opened to debate.