The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

The author of this letter argues that since the popularity of skateboarding has increased while the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been decreasing, it must be the popularity of skateboarding that caused the business in Central Plaza to plummet. Thus the author stated that by prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza, the business will return to its previously high levels. The argument, however, fails to consider other possible factors that may contribute to the decrease in shoppers and jumps to conclusion without sufficient evidence.

First, although the popularity of skateboarding has surged while the business in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing, the author has not shown any evidence that there is an causal effect between these two circumstances. They may correlate, but it is not necessary that the popularity of skateboarding has caused the decrease in business. Several factors may influence the business in Central Plaza other than people skateboarding there. For example, the decrease in business may be the consequence of bad economics, in which case other places would have experienced the same decrease in business without people skateboarding there. The decrease in shoppers in Central Plaza may also results from new competitors in nearby area. The author failed to consider these external factors in his or her argument and directly blame skateboarding as the reason why business plummets.

Second, the author points out that there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza without investigating what has caused it. The increase in trash and vandalism may dissuade shoppers to shop in Central Plaza, but saying that the increase int the amount of litter and vandalism is casued by the surging popularity of skateboarding need more evidence to support. It is likely that people skateboarding is not a contributing factor in the increase in trash and crime. Here the author stated a possible reason for the decrease in business but failed to examine the cause of if and attributed the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism directly to skateboarding without any evidence that the two relates to each other. The author must provide evidence to prove that his or her assumption that increased popularity of skateboarding and the increase in the amount of trash and crime are actually related to each other.

To sum up, although skateboarding may be the cause of the decrease in business in Central Plaza, several other factors must be considered as well, the author fails to provide sufficient evidence to show that skateboarding is directly relating to the decrease of shoppers in Central Plaza. Unless the author has sufficiently considered the external factors and proved that increase in amount of litter and vandalism is directly caused by skateboarding, the belief that prohibiting skateboarding will help business in Central Plaza return to its previously high levels is based on a weak argument and is more likely than not invalid.