The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it is commendable that the writer means good will and are just trying to ameliorate the declining sale of the Central Plaza. However, his argument to put all the blame on skateboarder is rife with holes and assumptions, and hence, not strong enough to lead to the prohibition of skateboarding.

First and foremost, it is assumptive to conclude that skateboarding is the reason for the drop in the number of customers going to the plaza. In fact, there are a number of factors that have yet to be accounted for such as the introduction of a much more convenient online shopping in recent years or citizens moving away for economic reasons. Unless there is a validated research on the issue, it is still equivocal to determine the true catalyses behind the decline in sale.

Secondly, the writer accuses skateboarders for littering and vandalism throughout the mall and yet, this is still just an assumption without any trustworthy evidences. As the matter of fact, there can be a number of possibilities needed to be put into consideration. For example, the culprits behind excessive littering could have been careless goers or the cleaning staff not being diligent enough and vandalism could just have been an aftermath of a robbery. In order to construct a more cogent argument, visual evidences are crucial.

Finally, the prediction of the plaza’s business will increase by prohibiting skateboarders bases upon no validate statistics whatsoever. Even if there are no longer any skateboarders, the business might not spring up if the quality of the products shows no improvement or the price is too exorbitant for normal consumers. Moreover, skateboarders, in fact, are potential customers as well since they may enter the plaza for snacks or refreshment after playing. Furthermore, if we give them even better treatments, for example free food sample at the front gate, might persuade these special customers to invite their friends to the plaza, hence save the plaza a huge amount of money for advertising.

In conclusion, it would be imprudent and unfair to execute such prohibition without deeper consideration. The writer’s argument should be provided with more validated evidence in order not to turn into a spurious calumny.