Some people think that the best way of reducing crime is to give longer prison sentences. Other, however, think that there are other better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Never before have we witnessed crime developing and diversifying in such intricate ways. Some reckon that lengthening prison sentences is the answer to this phenomenon while others suggest that there are more effective ways to tackle this problem. In my perspective, prolonging prisoners’ sentences may cause certain encumbrances to a nation’s development.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that there are some merits regarding to longer prison sentences. First and foremost, it serves as a mean to threaten prisoners who desperately aspire to be free and those who intend to commit crimes. Secondly, only by prolonging their stays in the prison will crime rate be decreased to some extent since most of the criminals are all imprisoned and supervised by wardens and police force.

On the contrary, this method cannot be utilised as a long-termed counter-measure. Firstly, it will dramatically affect many countries’ development, especially their economies since those nations have to spend more money on these criminals’ accommodation. Moreover, there is a possibility that this measure may be counter-effective because those offenders may not be able to rehabilitate due to being segregated from the society for too many years. Instead, setting a more severe law system including corporal and capital punishment is more practical and cost-effective, especially for developing countries. Moreover, forcing these offenders to do community service can help them learn both moral and vocational lessons, enabling them to reform.

From the basis of the afore-mentioned arguments, it can be concluded that lengthening custodial punishment is not a long-termed solution. The government should be more sensible and creative when it comes to devising methods in order to decrease crime rate.