Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern society, never before have we observed such a large number of people deciding to conceive children later in their life and this trend tends not to lessen. Although there are numerous reasons behind this scenario, I must agree that its drawbacks do outweigh its benefits.

To begin with, there are factors leading to this phenomenon. First and foremost, in the past, women who were considered as the "weaker sex" were obliged to do domestic chores such as cooking, cleaning and child-rearing. They were made to become housewives and, eventually, were to have children early. On the contrary, living in an egalitarian society, women have obtained the same rights as their male counterparts thanks to feminism. As the result, they were able to obtain education and appropriate qualifications, assisting them in getting decent jobs, getting their own career; hence, they decide to get married later in life.

It is undeniable that delaying having children do have various merits for parents such as gaining them more freedom, helping them enjoy life and have their own career; however, it could be counter-argued that many egregious effects can be an enormous burden on not only the the parents but also the children. One of the most catastrophic effects is the generation gap. Some may neglect this conundrum but little do they know age discrepancy the parents and their children can cause numerous problems. For exemplification, getting to know a child can be problematic if the parents have no relevant experience. Moreover, children who are given birth by older parents have the tendency to have weaker physique than their peer; some may contract incorrigible innate illnesses.

From the basis of the afore-mentioned arguments, parents have to take the time of giving birth to their children in order to have a healthy young generation.