The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The prompt reaches a conclusion that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty especially as it pertains to a quick sales of homes and at a good price; it does so by citing three main premises which includes; Adams has 15 real estate agents more than Fitch, Adam had a larger revenue than Fitch with the inclusion of home sales, homes listed on Adams has a higher rate of sales than Fitch—this was in lieu of a personal experience of the homeowner. Though the argument raises some considerable comparisons, I however find it fallacious due to three assumptions on which the homeowner depends upon.

It is possible that homeowner assumes that both Adams Realty and Fitch Realty have the same capacity in terms of operational concerns and mandate. This fact cannot be ascertained from the premises raised, because Adams has more staff than Fitch, it does not act as an indicator that it is superior. How about in a scenario where Fitch has most of his operations automated and hence will need less hands-on deck? Moreover, Fitch Realty may have a lower capacity in terms of deliverables than Adams, hence a direct comparison between the duo may be undue and unfair.

Another assumption the homeowner depends upon is that because Adams has a higher revenue than Fitch hence it is performing better off; how do we determine the veracity of this information. It is possible that Adams revenue figure is fabricated perhaps to appeal more to the public and attract more customers. It is also possible that Fitch is operating at a lower capacity hence he may have even performed better than Adams when compared on a similar index. This assumption places a major doubt on the accuracy of trustworthiness of the homeowners’ conclusion.

Lastly, the homeowner assumes that Adams sells at a higher celerity than Fitch because of a comparison he experienced within the past ten years; his assumption is dependent on a whimsical notion that Fitch has not improved over the years and the same conditions that apply then also applies now. Also, he is of the believe that since it took him one month now to sell his house using Adams hence they’re better off. How about a possibility that it could take much less than a month—say a week—to do same at Fitch now. With the above said, I strongly disprove that the homeowner’s conclusion is faulty and depends on several unfounded and questionable assumptions. Until all these are addressed, it is unwise to say that Adams Realtor is ‘superior to’ Fitch Realtor.