The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt’s author argues that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. To support this argument, he/she cites Adams’ greater number of real estate agents, revenue figures, average home sales, and its faster selling rate compared to Fitch. On the surface, these statistics do seem to strengthen the author’s viewpoint. However, his/her overall argument is flawed as it rests on four unwarranted assumptions.

To begin, the author encourages us to assume that he/she is an unbiased source. However, it is possible that there are financial motives behind his position. Indeed, it is possible that the homeowner has been promised some sort of financial compensation from Adams Realty if his/her friend uses this real estate firm. This financial compensation may come in various forms, ranging from a potential higher selling price for a home in the future or a discount. Besides this financial motive, there may also be a social motive behind the author’s position. For instance, the author may be close friends with Adams Realty’s owners. Should there be any motive that jaundices the homeowner’s perspective, then his/her argument is not an unbiased one. Consequently, the argument no longer holds water.

Secondly, the author assumes that both of these real estate firms are similar enough to be compared. Yet, this may not hold true if they are different in key respects. For example, it is possible that Adams Realty is a large and old real estate firm compared to Fitch. If so, then comparing these two firms would not be fair as they are vastly different. Similarly, the two firms may sell different kinds of homes. For instance, Adams Realty may sell mostly posh and luxurious homes, while Fitch sells more garden-variety homes. Indeed, this difference may account for the greater revenue and average selling price of Adams Realty compared to Fitch. Hence, if such differences exist amongst these two firms, then a comparison of these two firms would be analogous to comparing apples and oranges.

Moreover, the author’s argument rests on several assumptions regarding real-estate agents. Firstly, the author assumes that Adams Realty is the superior firm as it has 15 more real-estate agents than Fitch. Yet, the number of agents does not necessarily indicate the quality of work they are capable of doing. Indeed, it is possible that Fitch’s 25 real-estate agents have greater knowledge, talent, and skill levels than Adam’s 40. Similarly, the author assumes that part-time real estate agents are inferior to full-time agents. Since Fitch mostly has part-time workers, the conclusion the homeowner makes is that Adams is superior to Fitch. However, part-time work does not necessarily equate to inferior work. Instead, it is possible that the part-time workers at Fitch work far more productively than Adams’ agents. Thus, if these assumptions regarding the agents do not hold true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty is a flawed one as it is based on four unwarranted assumptions. Yet, if the author can provide evidence that addresses these four areas, then it would be possible to better assess the argument.