The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recent years, real estate firms have grown very firmly and they are a topic of major interest. The author of this letter tries to persuade his friend to use Adams Realty to sell his house based on several premises and thereby concludes that Adam is better than Fitch. Few people may assert that number of agents for Adams Realty is almost twice as high as Fitch Realty. There are even those who dispute that the average turnover of Adams is higher than Fitch and those who affirm it. Some people also ineffectively argue that Fitch was slow ten years back, but Adams is fast in recent years. Although the author's claim may well have merit, he has presented a poorly reasons argument that is built upon several questionable premises that does not hold up under high level of scrutiny. Based solely on the evidences at hand the author's argument cannot be supported.

Firstly, the primary concern with author's reasoning is his baseless assumptions. The author claims that number of real estate agents working for Adams are higher than that for Fitch. But this statement does not provide any details regarding the skilfulness of the employees working in the firms. There lies a possibility that Fitch Realty's employees may be more capable or competent than that of Adams Realty. The author undermines his argument by failing to expand the links between quantity and quality of the agents that he presumes to exist.

In addition to relying on unfound hypotheses, the author camouflage his lack of irrefutable evidences by equivocating throughout the argument. The author stated that ten years back Fitch Realty took four months to sell one of his houses and last year Adams realty took only a month to sell his another house. This is an ambiguous statement because the author is incapable of providing the details regarding the rate at which Adams realty sold houses ten years ago and the rate at which Fitch Realty sold houses a year back. There is also lack of elucidation regarding the qualities of the two houses and the demand rate at those instances. The use of ambiguity guarantees that scope and validity of the argument is obscure.

Furthermore, the author derives several inferences that remain debatable at the best. The author points out that the average sales rate of Adams Realty is higher than Fitch Realty last year. But the author fails to take into consideration that might have resulted in these circumstances that might have not been propitious to Fitch Realty. If the author is able to provide statistical data of all the years that Adams Realty has beaten Fetch Realty's average sales rate all the years then the argument can be warranted. The author's premise over which the argument rests proves to be devoid of legitimate evidentiary support.

Notwithstanding the dubious information and logical fallacies of the author's argument, his claim may well have merits. The author's issue suffers the lack of evidentiary support and statistical data. Also if the author wants to support his cause, the entire argument must be restructured with legitimate proofs and statistical data analyses of the complete history of both the companies by conducting extensive research and expanding on several inconsistencies. If the author fails to provide evidences then his viewpoint will largely remain negated.