Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Usually humans tend to solve a problem that has been found rather than preventing it from occurring. The issue stated above tries to convey a similar meaning. This is affirmatively certain because there are no certain ways to predict the arousal of problems in order to prevent them from occurring. Although, people may challenge this claim by delineating that most of the scandals indicate that a particular problem has reached its apex before it is eliminated. Also people may also proclaim that human tendency also include forgetfulness such that people tend to withdraw the preventive measures once the scandals are resolved. These are some very strong arguments that may tend to weaken the statement given, but there are more compelling facts that overpower these claims.

First of all, a problem can be dealt with only if its existence is discovered. In a quotidian fashion, it can also be stated that an ailment is cured only when its existence is determined. As evident from the history of mankind, every medicine that has been found till date is found because of the existence of a disease. So it can certainly be accepted that scandals plays the role of disease through which medicine which is the solution can be brought into action. So the claim that scandals might have already worsened the problem is weakened because the solution mainly tries to prevent the future recurrence of the problem rather than taking responsible for previous mistakes.

Secondarily, we have to scrutinize the fact that all the reformers and speakers are ultimately humans. They are not expected to predict which problem might turn into a catastrophe. Actually, there are no definite methods to prescience and assert that these problems might lead to a scandal affecting millions of people. But it must be enforced to follow certain disciplinary regulations that tend to minimize any kind of scandal that might arise. For instance, in Paris on 2015 a major terrorist attack took place that shook the entire world. The government instead of getting succumbed to the terrors, arose against the odds by preinstalling security forces before the terror attacks as a preventive measure.

In addition, one of the major scandal that happened in Asia was the 2G scandal in India. It was after this scandal that the government tend to realise that politicians must be limited powers in certain aspects and to eradicate bribery. Based on this scandal a revolutionary demonetization was brought about and many corrupt politicians were castigated. The other claim that people tend to forget the problem once the scandal is resolved can be tackled with a counterargument. The people might indeed forget a problem once dealt with, but the law must not. Various effective laws must be brought into force in order to prevent the problem as we know the impact that it can have.

In summary, it is evident that a scandal tends to emphasize the loopholes in the laws and it even serves as a medium to rectify the problem by tracing back the origin of the scandal. All these are not possible from a mere reformation speech from a speaker or a reformer as he will not be in a position to clearly elucidate all the impacts and preventive measures of the problem. A practical experience is always more effective rather than a theoretical thesis.