The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Owner of Sunnyside tower apartments claimed that they can reduce water usage in their apartments by modifying showerheads water flow, basically restrict it to one third of its original flow. They did their modification on the first five floors, although actual reading of water usage before and after the adjustment has not been reported, but he is sure that it was effective and they should commence their modification for all twenty floors of their apartments. I think owner erroneously concluded that their adjustment was right. There are many questions which left unanswered.

First and most of all, they did adjustment only for the first five floors, according to his claim people apparently had no problem with new water pressure but the important question is remained. Would the pressure be the same for higher floors? Usually there is a direct proportion between height and water pressure. It means if we go higher then pressure would decrease, usually exponentially, so there is no evidence that other floors would have no problem with modification and wouldn`t suffer the consequences.

Secondly, since there is no report about water usage after adjustment and consequently no comparison between water usage before and after adjustment, they cann`t claim that it was effective. There is a possibility that water usage even increased because people have to stay more in bath because of low pressure. A statistical data of water usage seems to be necessary for their decision. Beside, they only modified showerheads. people use water for cleaning, baking and many other purposes. It is vague, what they did about other kind of water usage. Did they do any other modifications for kitchen and other source of water usage. Still no information exists, if using water in bath is the main source of people water usage. Maybe people don`t use their bath for many reasons and instead use it for cleaning. So first it should be transparent, that what is the main source of people usage.

Finally, owner claimed that a few complaints had been reported. To consider logically, it is the manager who receive complaints. So he knows better if complaints are few or not. Also, it is a few comparing to what state? There should be exact data about number of residence and number of complaints. In that case, it can be said that if they are a few or no they are too much.

To sum up, the owner tried to bolster his assertion based on very poor reasoning. What he said is not cogent and a paucity of information exists. I think if he wants to do such a change many more evidence and examinations are needed. So in my idea, the recommendation doesn`t have the predicted result in any way.