The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex predicts that modification of the showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all the twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase their profits more substantially. The owner has reached to this prediction due to the fact that the corporation has to pay for water each month and if they can restrict the use of water, they will make more profit. However, before evaluating the argument, answers to these following three questions must be provided.

First of all, is the water flow amount which was used previously a significant amount? The owner assumes that this amount is a huge amount and reducing it to one-third of the previous amount causes reduction by a substantial amount. However, this may not be the case. It is quite possible that the previous amount of water flow was not very high. It was of a very little amount. For example, if the amount of water flow was only 100 units per second, then reducing it to 33 units per second is not a significant decrease than if the previous amount of water flow was 1000 units per second. The argument fails to provide evidence for this and so is seriously flawed.

Secondly, does water usage depends on flow rate only? The owner, without any evidence, assumes that no other factor except the flow rate is responsible for water usage. In reality, this may not be true. Perhaps the residents may use water for a long time and waste them. It is very likely that they are now using more than before. If this is the case, then reducing the water flow will have a negligible amount of effect. The argument fails to consider this case and so it is seriously weakened.

Finally, will the showers operate as expected in the upcoming future with the modification to restrict water? The owner prematurely assumes that there is no possibility of such a problem. However, this may not happen. It is possible that performance of the shower will deteriorate due to the low flow of water than expected. As time goes on, they will face severe operating issues in near future. In order to repair and maintain them properly, the corporation will have to pay a lot of money in a month. If this has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may be proved to be invalid. If the author is able to provide satisfactory answers for the stated three questions and provide more evidences for supporting these, then the argument can be considered for evaluation and predict that restricting water flow will increase profit of the corporation significantly. Otherwise it will remain seriously flawed as it is on surface.