The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Tower complex assumes that with showerheads adjustment to reduce the water pressure to one-third of what it used to be, all twelve buildings will use less water. Based on the author, corporate will save more money because they should pay less for water. The author mentions because only few complaints have been reported from first three building, so all other none building will be fine with the showerheads’ adjustment too. The owner of the building complex needs evidences to prove his/her argument.

First of all, the author mentions that only few complaints about low water pressure have been reported from three building since last month. But the author does not mention the total number of residents and total number of complaints from those three buildings. Also, complains are just for last month. The owner of the complex might get more complaints in the future form those same three building because some residents might think that the change is temporary.

Moreover, the author promises high profits for the corporation, but he/she does not provide enough evidences. The owner does not know the exact usage of water before and after showerheads changes. The author just accepts that people are going to use less water with the new showerhead changes. Probably, residents are going to spend more time to use water because the pressure is lower than before. Thus, the corporate will not save money because more water will be used and they should pay for it.

In addition, the author concludes that same number of residents for other nine building are going to complain like those three buildings. We do not know if people living in other nine building are going to have same or different reactions to water flow adjustment like residents in first three buildings. Residents in other nine building might be more busy employees with less extra time to spend under shower. So as a result, number of complaints might be more than number of complaints in the first three buildings.

Lastly but not least, the range age of population of each building has not been indicated. It can affect the numbers of complaints. For example, it might be more elderly and retirement residents in the first three building. So, they might have more time to spend under shower and do not complain about it. But the range age for other nine building can be different. For example, they might be more parents’ population which is going to bring more complaints about the water pressure change. Because parents are already so busy with their works and kids. Thus, they might get more frustrated to spend more time under shower.

The owner of these buildings should answer different questions to make sure that reducing water pressure by adjusting showerheads will save money for managers. They need to consider age group and total number of populations of each building. Also, they should know the water usage number before and after showerheads changes. Even with all of these proves, we still do not know if the people of other none buildings are going to have a same reaction to changes. Thus, the author’s conclusion is not valuable.