The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville. "All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have i

The argument here states that Centerville High School must sponsor some program to curb driving fatality involved by teenagers. This argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy this conclusion, the author’s reason is that the parents at Centerville are busy and they cannot afford outside driving institution fees to enhance the driving safety perfection on their children. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little justification to the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that in the two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. This is merely and the assumption made without much solid ground. The argument does not mention the total number of road accident occurred in the last two years in that area. There can be a possibility that the number of accident involving teenager was very less in comparison to the total number of the accident. There is also a possibility that the accident was happened due to the flaw of another vehicle. We have seen many accidents where the small vehicles were damaged by big vehicles. However, the argument would have been better if the writer provided statistical data of road fatality of the past two years.

Secondly, the author argues here that since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it does not demonstrate the clear road sign to strengthen the argument. The argument fails to explain what the parents do in their weekend. If the parents really want to enhance driving safety, they can go driving with their children on weekend. This argument proves the parent irresponsible to their children.

Moreover, the arguments state that the parents at Centerville are busy and they cannot afford outside driving institution fees to enhance the driving safety perfection on their children. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little support for the author’s statement in various critical aspects and raises skeptical questions. For example, how is the average total annual income of the parents of Centerville? How much it will cost to join outside driving school? How much extra time will need to school to manage driving class? Does not it hamper the other academic schedule of school? Does school have sufficient fund to run the extra driving class? Without the convincing answer to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the author’s argument is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear and more concrete information about the total road accident happened by different age group people in the past two years. Information of parent’s average annual income of parents will help to strengthen the argument.