The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less timeto weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints

A memorandum from the business manager of a television station states that they should have to increase focus to coverage weather and local news to its former level to generate more revenues from the advertisements. The argument fails to maintain several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To satisfy the conclusion, the arguers' reason is that due to the less focus on local news and weather coverage, the local businessman had canceled the advertisement contract with them. The careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides a little justification to the authors' conclusion. So, the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First, the argument readily assumes that over the past year, the television station the company received lots of complaints from viewers about the less coverage of weather and the local news. This is merely and the assumption is made without solid ground. There can be a possibility that most of the complaints were received from the interest group who is directly concerned with weather reports. For example, most of the complainer can be a local farm holder who needs weather update to plan their business. There is also a possibility that most of the complaints came from the local leaders who wished to be focused on local news. However, the argument would have been better if the business manager had provided the number of complaints received against or support to the programme as well as their social identity.

Second, the memorandum states that local businesses that used to advertise during late- night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. This again is a weak analogy portrayed by an argument. It does not elicit the clear correlation about the coverage of weather and local news with canceling of advertising contracts. It fails to explain the possible other reasons which can be the associate reason to cancel advertisement contracts. There can be a possibility that many targeted people, nowadays, are not watching television at night time.

Moreover, the augurers' reasons raise some skeptical questions. For example,

What is an estimation of the viewer of late night show? Is this number increasing or decreasing? Are they target a group of advertisers? What is the overall market for advertisement? without a convincing answer to these questions, the reader is left with the impression of more than a wishful thinking rather than the substantive idea.