'The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement. "Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.'

The argument does present a tempting choice for those who are seeking a place to retire based on various premises. However, the argument is unconvincing as it is riddled with many unwarranted assumptions without citing proper evidence to bolster these assumptions.

The primary flaw in the argument is that the author assumes that the decreased costs in housing will be sufficient to attract many people who seek to retire. What if the cost may have decreased significantly from the last year but still is higher than neighboring areas? If the costs of housing are greater than neighboring areas or greater than the national average then the people will prefer to live in other areas and not be beguiled with the premise that there has been a reduction in prices. Hence, the author must present whether the housing costs are lower than other areas to make the argument sounder.

Moreover, the author makes another glaring assumption that more number of physicians imply a greater quality of health-care system. What if the medical care system ranks quite low in terms of proficiency and quality among the neighboring areas and the ratings of health care facilities are lower than nation’s average? Certainly, then the premise that the health care system is better than other places will be invalid and consequently will not attract people who want excellent health care facilities as they grow older. Hence, the author should present a competent analysis which can certify that the health care facility in Clearview as one of the best, if not the best, in the nation.

Additionally, the author assumes that the mayor’s promises of new schemes to improve schools, streets and public services will attract the people to reside in the Clearview. What if similar promises have been made in future but never been implemented? It could also be that the overall current state of schools and public services is in relatively bad state than the neighboring areas and the promises, if enacted will do little to match the state of schools and services in other cities. Then certainly, the people will not be beguiled by these tempting promises and thus Clearview won’t be a top choice for the people. Hence, the author should include evidence which can help to certify that the promises will be enacted and also present evidence to support the assumption that schools and services will be better than other cities to bolster the recommendation.

Further, the assumption that the spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate will be favorable by most of the people residing in Clearview. What if there is no benefit of the natural beauty and consistent climate? What if the people prefer some other aspect of cities? Hence, the author should present analysis that climate and natural beauty is preferred among most residents to determine the validity of argument.

To conclude, Clearview might prove to be a good destination for people seeking residence after retirement. But, due to various unwarranted assumptions and lack of evidence the recommendation is invalid.