The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for he

The author suggests to invest in a retailer of home heating oil based on the information about home heating convention, climate pattern and houses under construction. However, all these trends cannot justify the author‘s suggestion due to some unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the author believe that most homes in the northeastern US are still using oil, their typical way, to keep their homes cozy. However, obviously, no matter how long the history of heating by oil is, in an era of various convenient technology, spurning the old way of heating might have been extremely easy and natural for the residents. For instance, there a great possibility that the residents in the area have upgraded their heating apparatus as an alternative of oil furnaces for a better experience, like electric heating machines which have no smell and are easier to controll than burning oil. If that is the case, the author is wrong to assume the oil demand is going to increase, which might actually start to decline.

Furthermore, even if the local residents may be reluctant to change their habits and comsume a lot of heating oil when it's cold, the author assumes that the local climate pattern will be as bitter as expected. Citing the weather forecast for next few years, which the author suggests in winter people are going to endure freezing conditions for as long as 90 days. But simply adducing the weather forecast which usually becomes unreliable in a long term, it is far from convincing. Maybe the temperature could be much higher in next winter as a result of global warming.

Finnaly, even it is granted that the winter is hard to endure in future and they don't need an alternative heating method, the author still implies that there is a direct connection between an increased oil demmand with the profits of Consolidated Industries. Because little information are provided about the heating oil market, we cannot exclude such a possiblity that other retailers are also doing well or even better. Not only its current market share, but also the details about the company's track record remain unknown, which is assumed by the author to be advantegeous and promising. Even if both those newcomers and the others need oil, they might purchase from bettwer retailers instead of Consolidated Industries. And the investiment in Consolidated Industries could be unrewarding.

In sum, when these questions about current heating habits, future weather pattern and profits of the heating oil retailer company are clarified, the suggestion remains unpersuasive.