The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrolment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim presented in the given memo states that the there are likely chances of new enrolment of the students in Buckingham College and the increasing prices of rent off-campus will surely bring students to on campus dormitories which should be attractive and should lure the students to go for on-campus housing. Stated in this way the director demonstrates several logical fallacies through instances such as one where in the director has assumed that the students enrolment will get doubled in next 50 years and there should be adequate dormitories for students at that moment of time. The conclusion of the argument relies heavily on the baseless assumptions, for which there is lack of proper evidencing; Hence, the argument is weak and unconvincing. The major logical fallacies are detailed in the upcoming paragraphs.

Firstly, The director of the Buckingham College readily assumes that the based on the current scenarios the number of students enrolling in the college will get doubled over the next 50 years. This is baseless assumption, taking such a huge time span into consideration will just mislead the judgement; One does not know what will happen in the next few years, for instance the Covid-19 situation, no one knew what was going to happen, every part of the country will be in lockdown and everything will be shut and there will be such a huge economic downfall. Therefore just by seeing the current situation one cannot assume that the same thing will happen in the upcoming years with the same rate.

The director should have done a proper research and maximum should have taken of 5 years of time span to consider the requirements of the dormitories.

Secondly, The director states that the average rate of an apartment has increased from past few years but agin no proper evidence has been provided that how this will effect the rate of number of enrolling students for on-campus dormitories. Maybe it is possible that the most of the students who are applying in Buckingham college are locals and reside nearby or just few miles and are capable of doing ups and down daily to commute to college. Also there are chances that the students will not enrol for on-campus dormitories because they won't be able to find that specific freedom which they could get, if they live off-campus. It is also assume that the new attractive dormitories will lure the students to enrol for on-campus dormitory instead of off-campus. There are several possibilities that students are here to study, not to enjoy the luxury or the fascinating services provided by the college. The director could have ordered a survey where they could ask few number of students about their choices between off-campus hosing or on-campus housing and then could have take the decision.

Therefore concluding, there are several groundless assumptions which should be nullified and proper survey should be done or proper advice should be taken from the different eminent persons in their respective field before taking the decision.Without the above defined evidence, the argument continues to remain unsubstantiated and open to debate.