The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:" In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, whic

The author states that there is a serious unemployment problem in city of Hillview. He offers an argument that making the town attractive to Autotech, an automobile manufacturing company, by offering tax incentives and conducting a campaigns will resolve Hillview's unemployment problem. At first glance the argument looks cogent and comprehensive but on thorough scrutiny we notice that the argument is rife with fallacies. The author fails to provide any supporting statistics or an analogy to an observation that is based on a similar situation. Before accepting the argument the author must address some very important questions.

Firstly, the author casually states that the cause of large scale unemployment is due to non availability of jobs. This assumption is not supported with any evidence. There might be numerous reasons as to why the unemployment rate is high. It might be due to recession at national level. Another cause might be that the country is at a state of war and hence not many companies are ready to invest in plants in the city. Consequently the companies might have also pulled out of their current projects and funding too. Without making it clear as to what the cause of unemployment is, the argument just cannot be accepted.

Secondly, the author assumes that Hillview landfill is the perfect location for automobile manufacturing plant. Author does not support this with any sort of statistic or evidence to support this. The landfill's topology could be exceptionally bad for constructing a plant. Before making such a analogy the author needs to provide more details about how he came to the conclusion that the landfill is the best location for the manufacturing plant.

Moreover, it is not clear from the argument that if the residents will be considered for the building and staffing of the manufacturing plant. What if Autotech already has enough employees and they are just looking to expand their facility's spread. What if immigrants are considered for the building task? Even if eventually the construction of the manufacturing plants does start off and the unemployed residents of Hillview are not employed in the project, the argument collapses on itself. To be certain that the residents are given employment preference the City Council must get involved and ascertain that they strike a deal with the manufacturing company.

To conclude, the author's memo needs to rid of number of assumptions he has made and instead look to bolster his analogy on facts. In addition to that to make a more formidable argument the author needs to provide irrefutable evidence, without which the argrument simply cannot be accepted.