The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

" In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo above, the Mayor of the city of Hillview advocates to encourage giant company Autotech to deploy in the city in order to ameliorate the unemployment rate. This argument seems like a valid decision for the problem, however, many questions need to be asked to understand if conclusion is cogent and warranted, as careful inspection of presented facts lead to some loopholes in the argument.

First, the author needs to give more information about Autotech company and how solvent it is. Some economic indicators would be quite helpful to evaluate the viability and stability of the company. Questions like how long the company on the market is, how many employees the company has, how competitive are the company’s products and what market share does it occupy.

Second, the author mentioned that the previous company that left residents unemployed was computer Software Company and the new company has a different direction and produce automobiles. Therefore, the reasonable question and awaits a reply, is former employees of Computer company are suitable to work in car manufacturing factory, as the set of skills each company requires are quite desperate. In case, unemployed people are not are good employment material for Autotech, the author's argument is flawed as it still would leave people unemployed and would not solve the situation anyhow.

Similarly, it is important to understand why the Mayor proponents so much for Autotech and personally asks the City Council to provide an attractive tax break and organize a large campaign. The corruption cases are rampant in any government and therefore the mayor would need to provide further explanation for this argent wish and lack of objectivity for allowing giant car manufacturing to build their plant in the city of Hillview. Also, more information needs to be provided in regards to the Hillview landfill and what does it mean that it was undeveloped for decades. In could happen that actually this site is an important sacrosanct place for pilgrimage or habitat for rare birds. Therefore, more information is needed to evaluate if that is possible to use this landfill or not.

Taking into consideration all the above information, it is possible to conclude that the argument as it stands at the moment is permeated with many flaws and does not render as cogent. The author needs to provide further clarifications for his conclusions and answer many questions before readers can trust to the Mayor’s eagerness to allow Autotech to build their plant in the city.