The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the owner of a chain of cheese stores concludes that the new store showed that people were enjoying cheddar cheese more than any other imported one's. Perhaps, recommends that the stores should stop stocking up any other variety of cheeses in order to gain profit by fundamentally concentrating on domestic cheeses. However, the owner supports his conclusion with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the owner presumes that the five best-selling cheeses in their newest store can be considered as a gauge to measure the popularity and potential buyer of that cheese. Further, no sufficient information is provided on how the five best cheeses were analysed and selected. There lies a chance that this data maybe invalid as it is taking into consideration only one stores sales and only a years sales record. People might have bought domestic cheeses because they were on sale or at lower prices but it doen't provide assurance that they might be interested in buying local cheeses in the future over any other imported cheeses. The sales result collected were only from one store completely ignoring other store's sales records which makes it more uncertain and unreliable. If either of these cases are true, then the owner's conclusion of not considering other variety of cheeses in stores holds no water.

Secondly, the owner supports his claim by providing results from a Cheeses of the World magazine that states an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. This might be true but there is no evidence provided on how many people participated in this survey, what kind of questions were asked in this survey also were there options provided to participants other than domestic cheeses to choose from. There lies a possibility that only 20 subscribers participated in the quiz and were biased about choosing the domestic cheese brands over the imported one's. It might also be the case that these survey participants only stayed in particular area where the newly opened store is situated and making the results even more critical to consider. If either of these cases are true, then the owners suggestion of not stocking other cheeses and relying on this survey can undermine his conclusion.

Finally, the owner has states that reducing the inventory expenses can lead to profit as they will be primarily focusing only on stocking domestic cheeses. This can be thought of as a sound solution but it isn't, as there is possibility that the demand of people change and they might be interested in buying more imported cheeses than the native one's. There is also possibility that customers shop from other stores as they might provide them with variety of cheeses than the owners stores which will eventually lead to loss. If this turns out to be true the onwers claim may lead to stores loss than a profit.

In conlusion, the owner's claims that they should stop stocking up on imported cheeses which might lower their inventory expenses. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. The owner needs to provide more data on how best selling cheeses were determined, also how the surveys were consducted and lastly on how the cutting down expenses on storing imported cheese assures profit.