The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five

The proprietor of a chain of cheese shops writes in the memo that the opening of the new location demonstrated that customers preferred cheddar cheese to other imported varieties. suggests that the shops should possibly stop stocking any other kind of cheese in order to make money by just focusing on homegrown cheeses. However, the owner bases three of his conclusions on suppositions that, if true, would significantly reduce the argument's force.

The owner first assumes that the top five selling cheeses in their newest store can be used as a barometer to assess the appeal and potential market for that cheese. Furthermore, the method used to evaluate and choose the top five cheeses is not sufficiently explained. This statistic has a chance to be inaccurate because it only considers one store's sales over the course of one year. Although consumers may have chosen domestic cheeses over other foreign cheeses because they were on sale or cheaper, this does not guarantee that they will do so in the future. Although consumers may have chosen domestic cheeses over other foreign cheeses because they were on sale or cheaper, this does not guarantee that they will do so in the future. As other stores' sales records were completely ignored when collecting sales data, the data is even more speculative and inaccurate. If either of these scenarios is accurate, the owner's conclusion that alternative types of cheese available in stores were not taken into consideration is invalid.

Second, the owner backs up his assertion with data from a magazine called Cheeses of the World, which shows that its readers are increasingly favouring domestic cheeses. This may be the case, but there is no proof given as to the number of respondents, the nature of the survey's questions, or whether participants had any options other than domestic cheeses to pick from. It's possible that only 20 subscribers took the survey and were prejudiced toward selecting domestic cheese brands over foreign ones. Additionally, it's possible that these survey respondents only visited the area where the recently opened store is located, making the findings all the more important to take into account. If either of these scenarios is accurate, the owner's recommendation to not stock other cheeses and to rely solely on this study can be questioned.

Finally, the proprietor claims that since they will only be supplying domestic cheeses, cutting inventory costs can result in a profit. This could seem like a good idea, but it isn't since there's a chance that people's tastes will alter and they'll choose to buy more imported cheeses than local ones. Additionally, there is a chance that customers would choose other stores over the owners' because those stores may provide a wider selection of cheeses. This will ultimately result in a loss. If this turns out to be accurate, the retailer's claim might result in a loss rather than a profit.

The owner concludes by saying they should cease hoarding imported cheeses because doing so might reduce their inventory costs. However, as it stands, the argument is predicated on three false presumptions, which make its conclusion, at best, unpersuasive and, at worst, fraudulent. The business owner needs to give additional information regarding how the top-selling cheeses were chosen, how the surveys were conducted, and how saving money on keeping imported cheese ensures profitability.