The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

The author of above issue states that the young people of the society should be trained for leadership in various sectors like government, industry or other feilds by focusing on the sense of cooperation rather than on the competitive side. In my opinion, I so far agree with the authors claim for certain qualitites a leader must possess for being a good one. The following are the explainations for my stance.

Firstly, being a leader comes with the responsibility of being open for your team's ideas and opinions regarding the matters of concern. A good leader is the one who takes his decisions considering his team and his coworkers. He will be respected and valued by his juniors if he is open to his teams beliefs and considers their views for the decisions that involve the team entirely. For example, say a task A is assigned to my team to complete within a month, and I am told to respond to the client if I could be able to complete the task within the given time. I should first be discussing this situation with my subordinators to get their view, and their thought on this because without them working for me, I would not be able to complete that task. So, for a leader to be efficient, he has to ensure being open to his junior's opinions.

Secondly, a leader is supposed to be there for his team whenever needed. All the industries are ought to have some kind of problems coming up. For the same, an employee must have a senior who is available to help him in the problems that he faces at work and provides him with whatever support he needs. There was a situation, at my work where my junior was exhausted and couldn't perform his task. He, could approach me for a pep talk for the motivation to get back to work happily. Hence, a good leader is the one is there for his juniors for help in any way.

Finally, there will be situations where the outsiders would hamper the teams work or hurt the employees in the team in some or the other way. For such situations, the leader must be on the team side supporting his team's self respect and confidence so that they don't lose interest in their job. Yes, definately a leader must correct his employee if the employee is wrong, but he should also ensure that the employee's self-respect is not at stake. This can be done by apologising to the external team on behalf of the employee and later on straighting the employee in person.

One might argue that, in this world full of competition, if the youth is not trained to be competitive, he might not even be able to get to the leadership positions. But, just as the competitive nahhe for any individual is necessary, the nature of being cooperative must be given a priority because though I may get to the leadership position with my competitive skills but I would not be able to sustain in that position if i am not cooperative with my colleagues.

Hence, though competition and cooperative skills should go hand in hand and I believe the youth of the society should be trained in sucha way that they are able to get themselves to the leadership post with their competitive skills without being arrogant, selfish and mean, and be trained such a way that they hold excellent cooperative behaviour for creating a peaceful environment for their subordinators. Therefore, I rest my case with the conclusion that the youth should be prepared for both, in the sense of cooperation and also in the sense of competition in right manner.