The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the vice president, it is stated that the percentage of job accidents are more at work when the work-hours are more when compared to a nearby factory. The vice president argues that the reducing one hour from each shift will significantly reduce the work related haphazard as the employees will receive proper rest. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated, two questions need to be answered.

First of all, when comparing with another company, we must check the similarities between both the companies. The experts may have overlooked on keen facts and differences between the companies. Panoply industries may have used better equipment which may be automated, therefore man power required may be less. machines lead to less work place accidents, so a comparison between the two companies is not an ideal one to begin with. A company using more machinery needs less man force and hence can be subject to less workspace accidents. this would also explain why they have an hour less of labour time. Reduction of work time after comparison with another company is not viable as profit margins may be affected due to this drastic change in work hours.

Secondly, are the qualifications of the workers factored in ? there is no information on which department of the company is causing accidents more. Blue collar workers are more prone to cause accidents due to fatigue than their white-collar counterparts. Even if reducing time was to be considered only manual labour would be affected as they are the ones dealing with labour intensive tasks which are more prone to hazards. Further there is no information on the machinery used in the company. Major mistakes often happen due to faulty machines which can be avoided by upgrading them. this will also help reduce labour time and increase and can lead to a significant increase in profits

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed due to the reliance on unwarranted information assumptions. if the author is able to answer the above questions then and only then can this recommendation considered as a viable alternative.