The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The first question that needs to be answered is where geographically the section of Route 101 was built in relation to Route 40. If it were further north than Route 40 this could explain why. The northern part of this region could receive more inclement weather and contribute to the faster deterioration of the road there. Measuring the precipitation and temperature across a window of time on both routes would help to evaluate the recommendation to see if this variable has any influence.

Another question that would need to be answered is if there is a great deal of elevation change on Route 101. If there is, this could mean that more repairs are needed to account for soil erosion having a negative effect on the road quality. The measurement of soil type and elevation change would assist in seeing if this would be a notable factor of the recommendation.

The next question that would need to be answered is what kind of vehicles are being driven on both roads. If the average weight of a vehicle is greater on either route, this would need to be examined to see if it has a noticeable impact. For example, if more semis and farm machinery are driven on Route 101, this could be correlated with faster road wear. An answer to this question would help to evaluate the traffic that a particular road would be experiencing and how this exacerbates road quality.

Lastly, we might also examine whether the new equipment that Appian Roadways has purchased has had a negative impact on the productivity of the company. For example, if the workers have required extra training and are not using the equipment at its full potential.

In expounding the questions above, measuring the weather in both locations would help evaluate the recommendation by controlling for this variable. Taking note of the geography of both roads would also further the effort to verify or repudiate the statement that the vice president made. Finally, measuring the frequency and weight of traffic in both stretches of road would also elucidate whether Appian Roadways is truly the better company over Good Intentions Roadways.