The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The marketing vice president's suggestion addresses the stopping of the Endure manufacturing process based on findings from a recent study with customers and a survey to customers from northeastern United States. To evaluate this recommendation, several questions must be addressed.

Firstly, as no data is given of the first study mentioned, we would need to ask which kind of study was carried out: The study may have been done by one or several surveys to the customers or perhaps the study was done based on selling statistics of the company which did not address any customer survey, or even both, surveys and company data are used to develop the study. Had the study not used any data from surveys, the study could not be valid enough to strengthen the author's argument, as consequence of/for not addressing customers opinion.

Furthermore, even considering that at least one survey was carried out in the study we would need to ask which number of customers were used as a sample and whether these customers are varied regarding social circumstances, gender, age and so forth. This need of evidence of the scope and validity of a survey is also presented for the survey mentioned later in the text, which we do not have any data of (we actually do not even know if this survey was part of the aforementioned study or not). Unless the surveys are proved to be fully representative and valid, the author should not back his or her argument with them.

Moreover, building upon the implication based on the mentioned study that customers purchase socks averagely every three months, the author infers that customers do not give importance to the tested durability of the socks. Nevertheless, we would need to ask how many socks do they buy at each purchase: Perhaps they do not buy a lot because they are just replacing a few of them of their wardrobe., maybe the oldest ones, which already have more than two years even if they have purchased lately other socks.

However, it is true that marketing the Endure process may not be necessary if any evidence was presented regarding that the Endure process does not need more marketing as it is already widespread and more evidence regarding that most customer's principal reason of purchasing new socks is the stylish appearance, as the author mentions rather than needing new socks to replace the old ones. This is because customers who usually purchase for stylish appearance might be more likely to have the wardrobe rife of divergent socks and, therefore they may use a particular sock fewer times a year, which would result in a lesser concern about durability of the socks.