The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The p

The manager argues that the WWAC radio station should change its rock-music radio style into the news-and-talk format due to the current situation that with the declining number of rock-roll music listerns of the station, the author found that the news-and-talk format is becoming more and more popular in that area. However, we should collect more evidence to prove the feasiblity of changing radio station styles, including the accurate population numbers and the local radio competetion, in that there are some loopholes in the memorandum. Also, whether the new redidents' acceptence of this modification is still in question. We should evaluate the evidence carefully.

To begin with, the numbers of population mentioned in the memorandum are not accurate, or in other word, due to the different scales of population, these numbers are not comparable. Firstly, we do not know how serious the declining is, or to what extent it would influence the radio station, in that maybe there were few people who did not like to listen to the rock music played by the WWAC. Likewise, the population growth of retired new redidents is certainly not clear enough, moreover, how many of them would like to listen to the rock music in the radio is not clear. Also,merely judging from the fact that several local stores were closed is not convicing enough to prove that the people in this place would not like to listen to the music anymore.

In addition, the reasoning of the memorandum is not convincing. As the new residents coming to the palce who would enjoy their retired life, whether they would accept the news-and-talk programs is not clear, more surveys are required to figure out their preference. Also, the local closing down of the music stores does not necessarily mean that the people here does not like to listen to the music ,however, they may use the more advanced technology to enjoy music like the Internet, possibly, they would like to drive to listen to some rock and roll to keep on focus. Thus, the connections of the future of the radio station which may change styles and the local people prefernce is still unclear. Thus it would not be a good idea to change styles without comprehensive survey.

Finally, the author does not show us the local competitions of the radio stations. As we do not know the other rock-music radio stations' performance, it would be arbitary to conclude the music radio stations would be broke down. Likewise, on the other hand, without the conditions of the news-and-talk radio stations, we could not figure out how conflict the competition in this format area is. As a possible new radio station, it would be dangerous for the WWAC change its style into this format. What's more, the atuhor does not tell us whether there are some professional DJs who can host such program which keep on talking and debating.

In all, I totally comprehend the manager of the WWAC, while the assumption is not compelling due to the flaws in the memorandum. There are more survey needed to prove the author's statement if he/she want to change the styles of WWAC. Firstly, the author should make clear of the scales of each group of people to weigh the severence of the rock-roll situation, and the importance of changing the style into the news-and-talk.