The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memorandum issued by the owner of Juniper Cafe appears realistic at first glance. However, when one considers the reason the Cafe owner stated, and the moves the company intends to make in order to save cost of operations, it is clear that there are several reasons to repudiate the owner's claims. Essentially, the reasons provided for reducing the working hours appear unfounded and could only be accepted if some evidences are put forward.

To start with, the owner of Juniper Cafe wants us to believe that decrease in hours of operation on weekdays and weekends will allow the Cafe save money spent on utilities, wages and operating costs. However, the owner failed to state whether these expenses are in fact charged hourly. For all we know, if the costs of utilities, wages and operations of the cafe are charged weekly, monthly or yearly, then reducing the working hours will be of no effect on the cost of running the business. In fact, the Cafe would be short-changing itself in this regard.

Secondly, the author failed to provide a comparative analysis of the cost of running a similar Cafe in another area; for example, the uptown area of the American city. If the cost of running the same cafe in the uptown area is lower than that of the downtown area, then several other factors could have attributed to the difference in business costs. The uptown area may be charging fees for utilities, wages or operating costs based on the number of Cafes in the area. If Juniper Café is the only Cafe in the downtown area, and other business are just low cost in terms of what they utilize in terms of energy consumption or security, the government or third parties may be charging Juniper cafe more due to its high energy consumption, need for more security amongst other reasons.

Also, the owner of Juniper cafe stated that it would now open on weekdays at 8 a.m. as against its previous opening hour of 6 a.m. What if patronage for Juniper Cafe is highest within the hours of 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. on weekdays? Also, what if people only like to work in the evenings from 5 p.m. on weekends and Jupiter closes at 4 pm, which would not afford customers the opportunity to patronize when it best suits them? The Cafe may be losing more in terms of revenue when compared to the cost it intended to save in the first place.

Furthermore, reducing the hours may not altogether be the best strategy for Juniper Cafe if its increased cost of running the business is attributable to the tax imposition of the government in downtown area of the American city. If this is the case, the tax imposition would affect the rate of utility charged by the electrical companies, the wage demands of employees and the cost of operations. Rather than the owner of the Cafe focusing on reducing hours of operations, a more feasible strategy may be to move the business to a different location where tax rates are lower or the number of taxable activities or items are fewer.

In conclusion, the owner of Juniper cafe has identified reduction in hours of operations as the necessary strategy to reduce costs or save money for the establishment. However, while one may believe this at first glance, the reason given leaves room for assumptions. Thus, more compelling evidences need to be provided in order for the claims to be accepted.