The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home applianc

The argument states that, according to the electric power company memorandum, they would not need to construct new generating plants because recent surveys shows owners are eager to conserve energy, manufactures are producing compliance that are twice energy efficient and also new technologies are better for home insulation. Stated in this way, the argument missed out several important key factors, on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument depends on claims that is based on incomplete evidence. Hence, the argument is flawed, incomplete and unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument assumes that, a recent survey indicates that home owners are eager to conserve energy. This might be right but there is a severe fault regarding the survey, how and which way the survey have been conducted, how many participants were actually participated, which type of questions they have been asking. For example, a business firm conducting a random survey in online and conclude that their company is in better position and their company will be on top next season. The statement could have been strengthened, if it would unravel everything regarding their survey.

Secondly, the argument claims that, the manufactures are producing products that is twice energy efficient than a decade ago, but it did not provide any earlier records such as what were the products type, their energy efficiency level. For instance, an energy firm in Seoul claim that, their refrigerator is more energy efficient than other refrigerators in the market, but later found their claims were inauthentic and just propaganda. The point could have been convincing, if it clarify and depict a vivid pictures of earlier records and then comparison would be strengthened.

Moreover, the argument assumes that, total demand of energy of their area will not increase and it will rather decline and then further electricity production is not required. But it is the parochial statement because, the argument did not show any record regarding of their area, energy consumption companies, it is industrial or city area, nothing is delineated well enough. The statement might have been rectified, if it provides a big picture of their area regarding their industries consumption, house consumption and also their geographical characteristics.

Posing several critical and engaging question unanswered, from the energy company survey records, manufactures products quality with their previous records and geographical locations, the argument throw the discreet reader to think, the author is whimsical and merely a day dreamer.

In the end, as the argument failed to answer many questions and also creates a conflicting situations regarding their statement and it does not meet with standard argument criteria. As a result, the argument is flawed, incomplete, and unconvincing to attract a discreet reader attention.