The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it is true that sucess of any firm depends on the employess who work their and shows the progress of firm's business but the author's argument doesn't make cogent case about how they hire people for their firms.It is easy to understand that sleeping cycle for an individual shows things at work also , but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus not strong enough to lead the conclusion that business should only hire those people who sleeps not more than 6 hours.

At first , the study through which suggest the business's success data is not completely true and rightfully collected .It is based on only 300 male and female mentian adverstising executives .As if we talk about the firms , it is good number of people works.Just a study of 300 doesn't count for general results.It may be possible that , many people in this study has a habit of sleeping less hours due to their life style , may be some to females are 'Mothers' in the study , in which case they need to wakeup early to get their children to schools .It is also applicable for Male executives in the survery also.It is a agood possibilty that some of them have late working hours in office and late to bed and wakeup early.This study is based on flaws , it is not clearly given that 300 employess they took have same lifestyle and office working hours .So ,it may be possible that 'amount of sleep ' factor doesn't count for same scale.

Additionally , depending on the argument in whcih study shows that those executive who sleeps less than 6 hours are more productive is not completly true as per true facts.An employee works may be depends on many factors , like thier energy , enthusiam ,motivation etc- these are not only comes with how much they sleep at night , it is completly depends on the office environment they are working.For example if a person schedule is 9 hours working in office but due to heavy load , he need to work over time and extended their work upto 12-13 hours .Nonetheless if a person is tired after working 12-13 hours ,will need more time to take rest and sleep.In this scenerio , that hardworking employee may need more than 6 hours at night , doesn't implies that he is not productive at all.So this assumption is totally rife with flaws.

At the end , it is possible that sleeping hours for employee does count in the progress it is making for the firm but it is not totally dependent for his work which refelects the business of the firm.So we may be consider other facts if we want to study the success of any firm and.