The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt’s author argues that firms should only hire people who need less than six hours of sleep per night if they want their businesses to prosper. The author bases this argument on a recent study of Mentian advertising executives, as it found that executives who reported needing less than six hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. While the author may be well-intentioned, his/her argument is overall flawed as it is based on three unwarranted assumptions.

To begin, the author assumes that the recent study’s results are generalizable to all businesses and their employees. However, it is not clear if this is so. For instance, it is possible that only young advertising executives were included in the survey. Indeed, the results may have been vastly different if middle-aged adults or seniors were included in the study. Similarly, the results may have limited generalizability as only advertising executives were surveyed. Perhaps, executives in other fields sleep far more than six hours. Moreover, besides these issues with the nature of the sample, there also may be an issue with the sample size. Given the myriad number of people employed in business, the study’s 300 participants is a miniscule number. Hence, considering these various issues with the sample’s nature, it is perhaps unlikely that the author’s argument holds water for all personnel employed in businesses.

Secondly, the author bases his argument on the average number of hours slept in the sample. Hence, he/she assumes that average are valid means to make recommendations. Yet, this may not be the case here. It is possible that the average number of hours slept has been significantly influenced by outliers. For instance, there may be some executives who sleep ten hours and some who sleep two. These individuals may be performing at their potential with these hours of sleep. If the author’s recommendation of six hours were forced on them, then it is possible their individual productivity and their firm’s growth rate would be severely damaged.

Moreover, the author assumes six hours of sleep is the only contributing factor to firms’ success levels (i.e. high profit margins and growth rate). However, there may be several other factors that can account for this. That is, it is possible that the executives who worked at the most thriving firms shared other key characteristics that contributed to their firms’ success. For instance, these people may have the same education level. Perhaps, they have all earned MBAs from prestigious business schools. Another potential factor could be the myriad years of experience these individuals have. Given that these potential explanations may be contributing factors to firms’ success, the author’s argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is a weak one as it rests upon three spurious assumptions. However, if the author can provide sufficient evidence regarding these matters, it may be possible to better assess the strength of his/her position.