The following appeared as part of an article in the education section of a Waymarsh City newspaper.

“Throughout the last two decades, those who earned graduate degrees found it very difficult to get jobs teaching their academic specialties at the college level. Those with graduate degrees from Waymarsh University had an especially hard time finding such jobs. But better times are coming in the next decade for all academic job seekers, including those from Waymarsh. Demographic trends indicate that an increasing number of people will be reaching college age over the next ten years; consequently, we can expect that the job market will improve dramatically for people seeking college-level teaching positions in their fields.”

In the argument, the author states that the job market will improve dramatically over the next decade for people seeking college-level teaching positions in their fields. To support his claim, he cites the demographic data that indicates the number of people reaching college age will be increasing in the ten years. The argument presented by the author is far-fetched and is based on unverified assumptions. Hence, the author needs to provide more evidence to make the argument more persuasive.

First off, the author states that those who earned graduate degrees found it very difficult to get jobs teaching their academic specialties at the college level. Nevertheless, the author fails to take into account other facts that might contribute to such situation. Artificial Intelligence, for example, is a rising subject, and there are tons of job vacancies. Traditional literature, on the other hand, is falling, and no one even wants to study that anymore. Thus, this argument is unwarranted without excluding such academic trends.

Moreover, even though the number of people reaching college age will increase in the next decade, there is no indication that everyone reaching that age will attend college. Perhaps there is another financial crisis that results in fewer and fewer people enroll in college, and thus makes the job acquisition even harder. Or the acceptance number remains the same, only the application number increases, so the need for new teachers is unnecessary.

To sum up, it might be true that the job market will improve dramatically over the next decade for people seeking college-level teaching positions in their fields. Yet, the author’s argument is built upon some assumptions that are not proven to be true. Therefore, the author should provide more details to support his argument. One example is hardly sufficient to form a general conclusion.