The following appeared as part of an article in a local newspaper:

Over the past three years the tartfish industry has changed markedly: fishing technology has improved significantly, and the demand for tartfish has grown in both domestic and foreign markets. As this trend continues, the tartfish industry on Shrimp Island can expect to experience the same over-fishing problems that are already occurring with mainland fishing industries: without restrictions on fishing, fishers see no reason to limit their individual catches. As the catches get bigger, the tartfish population will be dangerously depleted while the surplus of tartfish will devalue the catch for fishers. Government regulation is the only answer: tartfishfishing should be allowed only during the three-month summer season, when tartfish reproduce and thus are most numerous, rather than throughout the year.

The author of this article of a newspaper assumes that the tartfish industry will be overfished similar to other mainland fishing industries because the demand of tartfish has grown and the fishing technology has improved significantly. This assumption that the is a correlation among the mainland industries and tartfish industry in Shrimp Island is drawn from a weak analogy. The writer concludes that the introduction of some restriction should reduce over-fishing problems, without any regulations the catches get bigger and the surplus of tartfish will devalue the catch for fishers. The proposed solution of government regulation of tartfish is also weak because it is based on false assumption.

First, the premise of the argument is weak because it is based on a comparison among fishing industries that may be not similar for different reason. The author assumes that there will be an increase in the fishing industries in Shrimp Island because mainland indutries will sperimented a growth. The writer does not take into consideration that every industry is different and that the demand for tartfish might be greater than the supply.There aren’t no evidence to indicate that what will happen in other industrie will also happened in tartfish.

Second, the author states that the introduction of same regulation could stopped the overfishign ignoring that the fishermen may have other motivation to interrupt their activity, forx example a respetct for enviromental problems.

Finally, the writer concludes this argument assuming that tartfishing should be allowed only during the three-month summer season, when tartfish reproduce and thus are most numerous , rather than throughout the year. This assumes that allowing fishing only the reproductive season would be the best because in this period they are more numerous- However, if the fish are caught during theri repruductive season, then the reproductive is likely to be interrupeted, resulting in fewer tartfish the following year.

In conclusion, to strenghtened the argument the author should be provide some information to make his position to appear stronger. The development of a fishing policy for tartfish should be based on indutry research. Proceeding with an overfishing policy based on false assumption could create economic problems for the tartfish industry. It would ne unwise for the tartsih industry to follow the author’s calls without first conducting more research into the factors affecting supply and demand in tartfish industry.