The following appeared in a presentation by the chief production manager of a machine parts manufacturing company at a management meeting:

“Our factory in Cookville is our most advanced and efficient. It is capable of producing ten drill bits for each dollar of production costs, whereas none of our other factories can produce more than seven drill bits per dollar of production costs. Therefore, we can reduce our overall drill bit production costs by devoting the Cookville factory entirely to drill bit production. Since reducing the production costs of individual machine parts is the only way to achieve our larger goal of reducing our overall production costs, dedicating the Cookville factory entirely to drill bit production and shifting all other machine part production to our other factories will help us to attain that larger goal.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . .etc.

The author concludes that their company can achieve goal of overall production cost reduction by shifting drill bit production to factory in Cookville from all other plants and by shifting other production to other factories. To support his argument author provides the evidence of drill bit production capability as factory in Cookville can produce more bits per doller than any other company. Although the argument has few merits, because of lack of evidence, weak argument and vague language makes the argument unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author concluded that production cost can be reduced by operating factory in Cookville full for drill bits as this factory has most advanced and efficient machinery than any other factory. The author fails to predict any other aspect of cost reduction such as manpower issue, raw material supply. He has not mentioned that the factory in Cookville capacity is well enough to meet the market demand. Otherwise, this paln to shift the drill production facility to factory in Cookville will fail.

Secondly, the author has not mentioned any information that cost of shifting of production will not make much impact on their current and future expenses target. Otherwise, this plan is unlikely to succeed. Moreover, author has not mentioned any evidence how shifting of production will reduce individual machine cost. He has just mentioned one data i.e factory in Cookville can produce more bits per doller. However, this single piece of data is not sufficient to make such huge decision. Production cost depends of various factors like availability of raw materials, capability of factories to handle demand volume.

Lastly, author has fail to see the advantage of production facility in different location. If any break down happen in particular factory, that loss can be managed by other factory, which is under capacity. If author can provide data that no such incident happen in the past and every factory has a back up plan for breakdown, then the argument could have been strengthened.

To conclude, although the author has mentioned an interesting argument, due to various flaws as mentioned in above make the argument less persuasive and deeply flawed. However, had the author mentioned the additional data as mentioned above, the argument could have been made stronger. Otherwise, this argument has no legs to stand.